Newport High School News

RSS feed icon
A Night to Remember Night under the stars

The Homecoming Dance, A Night to Remember, will be held on Saturday, October 5, at the high school from 7PM to 11PM.

Banned Books Week

Banned Books Week is September 22 through September 28. Celebrate your right to read in the library this week.


Hispanic Heritage Month

Hispanic Heritage Month is September 15 to October 15.  Check out the selection in the library.


NHS Student Attends GSA

Ciara Stubbeman, a senior at NHS, was able to attend the Governor's School for the Arts this past summer for Creative Writing. She submitted her application and went through an interview process in order to be accepted. Ciara recommends the experience to other students as well, because of the wonderful time she had and the valuable lessons she learned.



Kroger Community Rewards Kroger

Did you know that Kroger Rewards helps organizations in the community? You can help Newport High School get more library resources by signing up with your Kroger card. There is no cost to you and Kroger donates to the organization of your choice. Sign up at Kroger Community Rewards.

Award of Merit given to Amy Gilkison

The Kentucky Association of School Librarians chose Amy Gilkison as the recipient of the 2019 Award of Merit. The award was presented at the Summer Refresher held at Eminence High School in Eminence, Kentucky. Congratulations!